We are a team of talented professionals with a wide range of skills and experience. We look forward to working with you.

The PI

Dr. Wei Tan is currently a Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering at Queen Mary University London. His research interests lie in the mechanics of composite materials and nanomaterials for energy storage. His research features the impact damage prediction and crashworthiness design of carbon fibre composites, manufacturing and modelling of carbon nanotube (CNT) polymer composites for supercapacitors.

PhD students

Emilio Felipe Gomez: Emilio is a first year PhD student working on the thermal-mechanical modelling of graphene-related materials. (Supervisors: Dr Wei Tan, Prof. James Busfield, Prof. Nicola Pugno)

Hirak Kansara: Hirak is a first-year PhD student working on data-driven mechanics of cellular composite materials. (Supervisors: Dr Wei Tan, Dr. Pihua Wen, Dr Han Zhang)  

Zhengqiang Chen: Zhengqiang is a visiting PhD student. He is working on the low-velocity impact modelling of carbon fibre composites and fatigue failure of impacted composite laminates. (Supervisors: Dr Wei Tan)

Ravi Dhirani: Ravi is a first year PhD student working on the mechanical Properties of Micro Pillars in Hydrophobic Surface. (Supervisors: Dr Colin Crick, Dr Wei Tan)

MEng students

Project title: 3D Printed Cellular Composites for Impact Mitigation or Crash Energy Absorption

Group members: Gary KOH,  Merrin Rose VARGHESE, Hirak KANSARA, John LUK

Project title: The crashworthiness of carbon nanotube composite electrodes for energy-storage applications.

Group members: Abdulaziz NASIRUDDIN, Evangelos KOLIOLIOS, Daniel MILLS, Wei-KONG MAO


Mr. Kai Tan, MEng student. He worked with Dr. Wei Tan and Dr. Adam Boies. He investigated the properties of CNT materials and developing real-life applications for the material.

Academic collaborators

Dr. Adam Boies, Dr. Michael De Volder, Prof. Norman Fleck, University of Cambridge, UK

Dr. Emilio Martínez Pañeda, Imperial College London,UK

Prof. Brian Falzon, Queen’s University Belfast, UK

Dr. Miguel Bessa, Dr. Sid Kumar, Delft University of Technology, Netherland

Dr. Lucas Meza, University of Washington, US

Dr. Haibao Liu, Cranfield University, UK


1. Bronze Award, Written Paper Prize, Royal Aeronautical Society, UK, 2018

2. Cambridge BlueSky Research Award, Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics, 2017

3. ‘Nano-man‘ , Cambridge Engineering Departmental Photo Competition, SEM Prize, 2017

4. Second best research poster in Sir Bernard Crossland Competition, UK, 2013